top of page

Xari and Wev

This week I spent some time working on yet another piece of concept art, or I suppose, a test panel for Xari's (still unnamed) comic, this one featuring the last of the leading characters, Wev, as well as Ravu's egg.

An illustration of two aliens sitting in a futuristic living room. Both aliens have long snouts, two antennae on their heads and 4 arms. The one on the left, Xari, is a dark aqua colour and has 6 long, rabbit-like ears framing their face. They are a bilateral amputee and do not have any prosthetics on, instead, sitting in a wheelchair. They are holding a shiny black egg on their lap, the size of their torso. The alien, Wev, on the right is larger in size and vibrant red in colouration with yellow spots. They have 2 rabbit-like ears and look to be deep in thought.

I made this picture, and plan to make the rest of the comic, by drawing over simple 3D models for the characters and a slightly more detailed model for the background. I'm able to use the 3D models to block out the scene fairly quickly, pose the characters and even get a vague idea of what the lighting will look like. It's also quite useful for the more complicated shapes and objects, such as the arrow-fruit tree behind Wev and Xari's wheelchair.


The same scene from the picture above, but in 3D and shown from a slightly different angle. The models used for Xari and Wev are very basic and blocky, being one solid colour each. The rigs can be seen inside the models, and a virtual camera can also be seen. In the top righthand corner is a view of what the camera sees, a simplified 3D version of the previous illustration

This scene is inside Xari's house, which I modelled in Blender with some light texturing done to help differentiate the objects in the scene (and to get a better idea of how lighting might impact certain objects). I'm not the best when it comes to interior decorating, so I made the first draft of the house in The Sims 4 to better visualise what I wanted, but since I couldn't get the curved walls and very high-tech furniture I was after in that game, I used the Sims 4 house as a reference and remade it in Blender, more closely to what I'd initially imagined.


The model may look rather rough, and to be fair, it is, but it's more than enough for my needs since the model itself isn't used in the comic, just the shapes.


This is also the first picture I've done with Xari using their wheelchair, or rather the first time I'd even drawn their wheelchair in 2D (leading me to realise some of the colours worked well in 3D but not in 2D, so I made a few adjustments on the fly).

Click for video description

I hope you enjoyed this breakdown of the image, I hope to have a few more ready soon!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page